TT logo
You are viewing a low-graphics version of this page. Click the headline to view full version:

M&E Group (Labourdesk)

Anyone used these before??

Toytown Germany > Discussion forum > Germany-wide > Life in Germany
mj71
HI its my first time here and i would just like to ask for a little bit of advice please before i possibly make a huge mistake.I have recently applied for a job in germany to work on american army bases as a fitters mate through a company called M&E group based in wolverhampton,uk.Has anyone ever had any dealings with this company and if so what was the outcome because the offer they gave me seems to good to be true and in my experience it usually is the case.They seem to be offering me employment without any interview,medical,no meeting them etc amongst other things.(and that was just after one day after reading my application letter).I know they are an agency but i dont understand how they can do this,especially on a military base in another country.Surely some sort of interview is required?Im a bit dubious incase thet send me all that way after telling me i have the job when really all i am ,is on their books and when i get there maybe the base will do interviews etc.Its a long way to travel for nothing.Any help would be appreciated.The sooner the better THANK YOU
Nicole
Sorry to sound obvious but can't you just phone up the company and ask them what exactly everything involves. My Husband works on an Army base, they employ a lot of contractors, both American and European (or Local nationals as they are referred to.)

Basically most contractors are self employed. The US government has recently changed the rules for getting onto a base as a local national employee. I think you have to be resident in Germany for one year to qualify for a base entry pass and even then you'd need a security check, so technically you could't even get onto the base to go to work.

This is not a company that is based in Germany but sending folks to Iraq is it?? They offer a seemingly good job with the US military in Germany which falls through then they offer you a decent salary to work in Iraq, ask them that too.

Best advice would be to contact the company and see what they say. If they are legit then they will have some answers about health insurance, salary place of work etc. If they sound cagey it probably is!
Nicole
However... I just checked out their website and they look legit. M&E group

They seem to be an American company. Definitely a defence contractor, they are advertising at a lot of US defense industry job fairs. What usually happens is they are paid by the US Government for every position they fill. So for example they get $60,000 for your slot, they pay you $40,000 and they make $20,000 profit. You are generally liable for your own taxes and medical. Even so, some of these jobs are OK. Get in touch with the company and have a chat with them and have them clarify their side of things.
mj71
hi nicole thanks for the reply.I have talked with the company and i cant get much info out of them.They offer £385 per week,give u £100 towards travel expenses,give u health care plan free of charge but u have to provide own tools and they insist that u drive there.Also they wont give out any names of bases or anyone i can talk to that has worked for them just for my peace of mind.And they still say that u dont need a face to face interview.How can anyone be employed without an interview,especially on a military base.I thought they would want to know the far end of a fart.A security check is given after i fill in a form which i have to pay for.£25.Im wary.It sounds like a good job but dont know if its a risk.How can they employ people without even meeting them?And also they claim the work is just simple things like changing oil.It seems like an awful lot of pay for changing oil.CONFUSED wacko.gif
You are viewing a low fidelity version of this page. Click to view the full page.