German Eagle Tattoo

Would it be considered inappropriate?

Pages: 1 2 3

nw2berlin
Hi all,

My wife and I are moving back to Berlin this November, and I totally live and breathe Germany. I majored in German Language/Literature and consider Germany a very big part of my life.

I've never gotten a tattoo before, as I believe it should be something very important to you. I would like to get a tattoo of the German coat of arms, but I fear this may be looked at suspiciously by people both in and out of Germany.

Coat of arms of Germany
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coat_of_arms_of_Germany

I don't want to be seen as a neo-nazi. My wife thinks people will see the symbol as that, but I argue that the Bundeswappen is much different from the Reichsadler used during the Nazi regime. I also know that nationalism and pride of Germany is looked down upon, but things have been changing recently.

What are your thoughts on this? Would a tattoo of the Bundeswappen be distasteful? In any other ideas for an appropriate German tattoo, or is it just not possible?

Thanks for your thoughts and cheers from Seattle,

-Ian
sarabyrd
What size and location were you thinking of? A chestful of colorful eagle would come across as rather outré while a tasteful black and white birdie discreetly placed on your upper arm will be less likely looked askance at.
nw2berlin
I was thinking of getting it either on my upper arm or on the inside of my lower arm, which would make it quite visible.
Serenajean1
I have a pretty good sized star with the german flag colors stripped through on my lower neck. I have met the occasional snide comment, or people finding it odd that I have a german patriotic tattoo, but nothing that really ever made problems for me. Nor have I been called a nazi. Though my integration course teacher liked to pick on me and call me a commi because of the star and my east german connections lol.
Chocky