Rules for Stufe (level) within TV-L E13 - Germany

How Universities determine the level of experience

Pages: 1 2

marshallgot
Hello,

I have already searched the forum and there’s a lot of helpful information from you guys, but I couldn’t find the answer for my specific questions.

Where can I find out about how the working experience (stufe) is established in ‘public service’ organizations in Lower Saxony? I have recently moved from New York to Gottingen and have a position at the University as a postdoc. I’m in TV-L E13 salary group. I have 4 years research experience from EU where I got my PhD and 8 years from US as a postdoc. I read on these forums that (quote): “The experience is total research experience counted from the start of your PhD.” Does it mean that I should be in Stufe 5 (12 years of experience)?

I’ve never could get a straight answer from HR about it and they put me in Stufe 3. At that time I was still in New York. When I asked my future boss about it he replied that: “I will request this month that you be transferred to level 4, however, this is the formal outcome of the administration which of course we have to accept formally”. When I asked who is responsible for determining these things and what are the rules, he replied that “I don’t know (I don’t determine salary levels). As in most European countries salary levels of scientific positions in Universities are subject to administrative evaluation. Therefore I can’t tell you what has been evaluated in detail or who was involved”.

So, this is really puzzling me. Is there a way to find out according to what laws (or rules) the University determines the salary level? Shouldn’t it be transparent?

Also, because of my inexperience with the German rules and the lack of time, I have already signed the contract. I don’t see any note about the Stufe in the contract, only TV-L E13. Is it possible to change the level within the salary group after signing the contract?