Retired U.S. soldier wants to move to Germany

Advice needed

Pages: 1 2

Svarazics
Greetings,
I am a Retired Soldier currently living in the States. I would like to move back to Germany (I was stationed in Wuerzburg for a long time)and I have no idea where to start! I don't really need a job due to my retirement and VA comp but it a job would be nice to stave boredom. I would like to live near Kaiserslautern, Stuttgart or Heidelberg but will be content with anything near Wankum/Wachtendonk!

Where do I start and what do I do? Anyone know????

Also need advice on movers, housing and Postal Services!

Thank you all,

Porl
Svarazics
Need to stop typing when I am tired...I see my mistakes!!! Sorry all.......
ukpunk1
Apply for a GS (NSPS),WG, or a NAF (AAFES, MWR) job, then start from there.
NoBullJim
Go to USAJobs.com and take a look at the available positions and start applying. As of May 23 the NSPS system is no more as they are going back to straight GS slots. At the moment, there is a very strong push to cut contractor positions and convert them to GS so there should be an abundance of jobs listed.
Serenajean1
He doesn't need to do that. YOu can get another kind of visa just to retire in Germany when you have enough income to support yourself. I know quite a few people who did that.
You are allowed to live but not work and must have your own private insurance not the social.

Sorry I dont have more info off hand, I will try asking them. But hope someone else can also chime in. But he has other options.

My mom plans to do the same someday.
dbert4
Why do you want to retire in Germany? Unless you have some cultural ties with Germany, speak the lanuage, German spouse etc. what is the point?