How To Setup The Alice WLAN Modem 1121 - Germany

Need Guidance On How To Setup My WLAN

Pages: 1 2 3

Jeffrey1987
Hello guys,

For your information, I'm a student who just arrived here for 4 months and recently I have subscribed to Alive for my internet connection purpose. Nevertheless, I found out that I have difficulties in setting up the WLAN. Although I have inserted the CD which came along with the package into my laptop in order to configure, it stopped at one stage which it indicates that " The DNS server isn't responding". Can you guys enlighten me. What should I do next step? Thanks in advance!
R&K
Hi, I also went through similar problems with Alice. I'm assuming you are using the WLAN device that Alice provide, this is where you went wrong because it is sh*t!! This is a combined WLAN device and modem, both of which you need for a WLAN setup as per this link.

Diagram of wireless lan

The only thing that fixed it for me was buying a replacement WLAN unit and using the Alice device as a modem only. Once you have this, don't use the Alice CD, just use your windows help to set up the connection...it worked perfectly and I haven't had any problems since.

Good luck!!
k0be
Here is a nice tutorial on how to use the thing:

http://www.alietsche.de/Alice_Modem_1121_WLAN.html
Jeffrey1987
I still can't solve the problem. Anyone here please help me ...
zeiger
Hi Jeffrey, did you solve the problem already?
I have taken a new Alice Connection as well and they have supplied a DSL Modem (which does not have a wi-fi router built in).
Tonight I will try to figure out the whole thing as I have not yet set it up.

Fingers crossed as of now

I will update the thread in a few days. After reading a few posts on TT about setting up an Alice connection, it feels like tonight I am going to wage a war with my modem and the internet connection. Lets hope I can win. And if I do, I will come right here to announce my triumph