How to obtain a German social security number

Is it the same as your tax ID number?

Rose-Helen
Hello to all -

I am new to germany and have already registered as living in Munich and also received a tax ID number, but am I also supposed to obtain a social security number and if so how do I do this? I start my new job this Monday and in some of the paperwork it wanted to know my social number. I have a U.S. as well as a EU (Italian) citizenship...not sure if this makes any difference.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advanced ; )

Rose-Helen
rhody
What's the German word for the number they are asking for? There isn't a social security number per se that is used a general ID number but there are various numbers used for different purposes.
RainKing
You have to join a health insurer. Once you start work, they will send this number to your employer after a few weeks.
Rose-Helen
Thanks Rhody and RainKing for the replys-

To Rhody: The word is "Personalnummer" and I was told that this is the social security number....?

To RainKing: So since I will be working full time, I am guaranteed health issuance, correct? And if like you said the insurance will send the number to the employer, then I guess I don't need it for the start of the job, correct?
miwild
... The word is "Personalnummer" and I was told that this is the social security number ...
It´s Sozialversicherungsnummer ...
RainKing
To RainKing: So since I will be working full time, I am guaranteed health issuance, correct? And if like you said the insurance will send the number to the employer, then I guess I don't need it for the start of the job, correct?
Yes to all, but you have to choose and join the health insurance company yourself e.g. TKK etc.
estam
It's called Sozialversicherungsnummer and I think these are administered by the Deutsche Rentenversicherung Bund (http://www.deutsche-rentenversicherung-bund.de/).
Rose-Helen
Thank -you to all : )