How to stop German neighbors from asking favors

Such as English tutoring or babysitting

Pages: 1 2 3 4

dengegg
I settled down in this village 1 yr ago, my husband is German and he was born here, thus he knows most of the neighbors and some of them grew up with him together. But I didn’t have much contact with these neighbors. Currently I am a student and preparing my research thesis for my master degree. Several months ago, one neighbor asked my husband if I can tutor her 20 yrs old daughter English, because that girl studies in BOS and her English is not good enough for the final examination. Although I am not a native English speaker or professional English teacher, I did achieve some American professional qualification certificates and did pass some international English examinations before, such as TOEFL, IELT, and GMAT. So I thought that it would be not bad to help someone in the neighborhood and especially that girl is my husband’s friend’s daughter. After once discussion through telephone about the rough plan of tutorial, every Saturday this girl comes to my house and I tutor her for 2 hours (till Jun2010). Honestly it was not that hard or difficult, usually we only practise reading and speaking within 2 hours and I send her some extra listening or writing homework during that week by email. In the first tutorial, that girl asked me whether I charge money or not, since that time I considered this was only as an extra favor from my husband’s friend, so I said ‘free of charge’. And today my husband told me, one neighbor of him asked him if I can babysit her 8 months old small daughter several times a week, because they have 4 kids, 1 cat and 1 dog at home, husband have to work, wife is housewife but too busy to handle this small baby, moreover they have to pay huge loan for their house every month, there is no additional money for hiring somebody to help. I discovered this family not only asks favor from my husband but also did so much talk to persuade my hu