Salary and cost of living in Aachen

Apartment rental, utilities, food, salaries, etc.

Pages: 1 2

Neel08
I will be moving to Aachen in a month or two, I have been offered a job with 36K Gross salary yearly. Is it sufficient for a couple, What is the living cost in Aachen. What would be a typical rental for apartment ( 2 room + kitchen).
long-haul
hi,

I am studying in Aachen and been residing there since August 2005. ITs a really nice city. Small and its basically a student City, which means u will see lots of young faces on the street. One sixth of the poulation of about 250,000 are students.

The house rent in Aachen is cheap compared to other cities. To be frank, 36k Gross for 2 people will be a little tight. There are lots of WG's (sharing apartment) and rooms available in Aachen. It wouldnt be difficult to find a apartment around 450€ warm. Personally i have been living in a student hostel and works out very cheap. But theres a famous weekly(i think) paper called "ANNONCE" - i am not sure with the spelling though. There u can see looooots of adds for room/apartment renting.

cheers
Neel08
What would be average cost of groceries for two people and is there an shop/mall where we can buy Indian spices and grocery.
Balderas
I have received a job offer to work in Aachen. Monthly salary will be in the range 3200 and 3400 Euros, and I have been informed that after taxes I should get about 1800 to 2000 Euros in my hand every month.

My question is: how good is this salary? In order to help you answer that question, I can give you an example:

Right now I earn about 2300 USD per moth after taxes and insurance related expenses in Rochester, NY. My monthly expenses are roughly 700 USD for housing including utilities (gas, electricity, etc.) and about 400 USD for food. This means that I can keep about 1200 USD per month to save, or spend in trips and vacations, fun, clothes, computers, etc.