Safety of walking through Berlin at night

Is it safe? Where are the safest areas?

Pages: 1 2

acozma
Hello to everyone.

I am a Romanian student, willing to travel in Czech Republic and Germany this summer.

Even if Berlin is not on my agenda, it was impossible for me to stay away from this magnificent city and I decided to see it, but only for 6 or 7 hours, between the arrival and departure of my trains.

What I want to know is if I may walk through Berlin (the centre of the city, not the Eastern Part) between 10 p.m and 6 a.m for seeing briefly the main landmarks and being sure that there are minimal chances to be robbed. At the same time I would be very happy if someone would advice me what to see for these 8 hours.
nw2berlin
Acozma, Berlin is a really safe city. I've never felt a threat here, and I've been all over the place at all times of the day and night. You happen to be in luck that the Hauptbahhof is located close to the Reichstag. You can't miss it. Walk to the Reichstag, and from there, there are tons of cool things to see, ie: Soviet War Memorial, Brandenburger Tor, Murdered Jews of Europe Memorial, Siegesauele, Unter den Linden... just to name a few. Hope you have a good time!
miwild
... (the centre of the city, not the Eastern Part) ...
The center of the city (Bezirk Mitte) is actually in the Eastern part ...

Mitte was the most central borough of Berlin (Mitte is German for centre). It was set up in 1920, when Groß-Berlin was set up, and in 2001 it was joined with Wedding and Tiergarten to make a new borough called Mitte or Berlin-Mitte.

Mitte was in East Berlin, and had a lot of Berlin's historic sites. The Pergamon Museum, Unter den Linden and the Brandenburg Gate were in Mitte.

In 2001 Mitte was joined with two boroughs from West Berlin. This helped to break down the idea of a divided city, and put the important tourist centre of Berlin under one local government.
Boroughs of East Berlin

Attached image
dessa_dangerous