The "Gewerbeschein" business license

63 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all,

I want to know about the "Gewerbeschein". how does one pay tax with it? does the money come to us from the finanzamt ( as with lohnsteuerkarte) or we have to pay the tax by ourselves. What are the loopholes if any?

I am a student and want to know if i am eligible for getting a gewerbeschein. do you recommend doing any freelance jobs with it?

Is doing job with a lohnsteurkarte better than doing it with gewerbeschein?

Someone told me that its risky to do work with gewerbeschein as there are many "loopholes" can you exaplain any if you know any of them?

What is the upper cap of taxable income, for this type of work permit?

any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Posted

A gewehrbeschein is a bussiness licence...

Unless you want to pay MORE taxes, then don't get it...

Posted

I am a freelance teacher, or will be staring Jan. I already have the freelance statement in my passport with my residency permit. I know I need to get this Gewehrbeschein thing when I start actually working - where do I go - and how easy/hard is it to get. Thanks :)

Posted

As a freelance programmer, I know that you don't need a Gewerbeschein, but I am not sure about a teacher. The rule has something to do with it being "geistlich", ie. "intellectual" work. I would check into this if I were you, as you would have to pay extra "Gewerbe" tax to the city or "Gemeinde".

Posted

Freelance teachers don't need a Gewerbeschein either.

Posted

Thanks showem :) One less thing to worry about.

Posted

Hi

I'll (hopefully!) be working in Berlin for about two months over the summer. The company have told me they need to see my Gewerbeschein before I start working for them - can anyone point me in the right direction for sorting this out please? I'd be really grateful - everything I've read so far has just confused me and my German is very limited!

Thanks

Posted