Microsoft Office for Apple Mac vs. for Windows

31 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi there,

I'm looking into buying my first Apple Mac Pro. I've used Dell and Windows up to now. I'm just wondering, which system is used predominantly in Germany? Is it Windows or iOffice?

cheers!

turasteanga

Posted

iOffice? Do you mean Microsoft Office for Mac? This is compatible with the Microsoft Office for Windows at any rate. You'll also have no problem setting up a Mac on a Windows network.

Posted

Networks, and Documents formats are 2 different things...

Posted

Clearly, but network compatibility is important in a work environment none-the-less

Posted

Hi there,

I meant the Office for Mac, I think it's called iOffice. I'm only new to Mac so I could be confusing something! I'm not sure if it's so compatible with Windows after reading a couple of reviews but I'm ready for a change. I think Windows Office 08 is bringing out something for Mac soon.

So Windows is used more commonly then. Think I'll still go for the Mac though :)

cheers turasteanga

Posted

I've never had compatibility issues between office for Mac and office for windows.

Smart move to go Mac.

Posted

That's good to hear then! It's a lot more money but I think the quality should be much higher and the design sleeker. That's what I'm after, as well as all the technical genius! :)

Posted

The cases of the MAC's are higher quality, but the internal hardware is the same... In the end your paying for the apple name and OSX..

Posted

In the end your paying for the apple name and OSX..

Not a bad thing to pay for an OS which makes working with a computer as easy as it should without bugging you with security holes, tons of stupid installation and maintenance work, and occasional system crashes, is it?

Posted

As a former PC user I was a little concerned about the switch to Mac, but overall I am very happy with the stability of OS X,