Diplom vs. Bachelor's degree

87 posts in this topic

Posted

I looked up the translation of "Degree" for my job applications and the suggestion was "Diplom". A work colleague (who has just completed his "Diplom" and feels it necessary to boast about it at every opportunity) said that the German Degree is better than the British one and also that a "Diplom" is not a "Bachelor". He said that if I write "Bachelor" some people may think I am purposely misleading them... He said that a "Diplom" consists of a Bachelor and a Masters...

Are they different?

He said that they are now starting to recognise the Bachelor in Germany and that I should use that...

Posted

I have a Diplom and a Bachelors (Honours). Officially a British Bachelors with Honours is the same as a Diplom, however, most Germans let their superiority complex get in the way of what is correct and still insist that a Diplom is a Masters degree, simply because they stretch it out over a couple of semesters extra.

Posted

Yeah, Germans have told me that a Bachelors is just a Vordiplom -- but you could check with the Zeugnisanerkennungsstelle.

Posted

There is officially a difference between a) a British Bachelors with Honours, B) a US Bachelors and c) a British Bachelors without Honours. So a "Bachelors" is not always officially translated as a Diplom, which confuses the Germans so they simply downgrade everything. c) is not really worth the paper it is printed on, even in Britain.

but you could check with the Zeugnisanerkennungsstelle.

With European Degrees, you don't need to, they are automatically "anerkannt".

Posted

So would you write "Bachelor" or "Diplom"? Could "Diplom" be considered misleading?

Posted

If you are writing a CV you have to write the same what is written on your degree. The equivalence is established either by the university (if you are planning to study at one) or by the employer if you are looking for a job.