Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Boss changed contract offer, acquired my password

13 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello!

I have some trouble at work and I really appreciate your opinion.

I started working as a research assistant at my university as I graduated from my Master's. My supervisor came to me and asked me if I am willing to get full time employed at the Institute and write a paper on it.

So I agreed and I have rearranged everything like renting a new apartment based on the promised salary and that I am going to be working full time.

I went to sign my work contract and I was shocked to have to work 20 hours instead of 40. At that time my supervisor was on a holiday and I have been told by the secretary that I will get 40 hours when I renew the contract after 1.5 months and that is a restriction of my student visa (which is true) and once I get a working permit then I get the 40 hours. That sounded logical to me. After my supervisor came, we had the first meeting and she said that she will only offer me 20 hours even for later and she didn't know that I would get that much paid and she said: "You even think that you can get paid as much as I do? I did a mistake and I just didn't know. " Then she said, anyways it's a good experience for me and I can even work for more than 20 hours because I would be able to finish the paper and get it published. She has also added that she has a budget and she wants to hire other assistants and that the project manager is using the money for other projects (this is absolutely a lie) !

I felt so betrayed, I thought of writing the project manager but the problem is that he doesn't really work anymore at the Institute (which means that she has no boss at the moment) and I have only met him twice before so in case she knew about it then she can make things worse.