Tricky issue with insurance claiming

17 posts in this topic

Posted

So I am in a tricky situation with an Insurance company. I am a postdoc in a Max Planck Institute in Germany. On the day of my arrival to Germany my wife fell from the train in the station and was taken to the hospital with a broken nose. I got my bills, I payed them and everything was ok.

As required by the MPI institute and the German government I had to take Health Insurance and I choose one that complies with the German public insurance laws (Offered by Halleschele)that by the way is quite expensive (+200 Eur pp but the MPI gives you a hand with payments). So here comes the source of my question: With the help of the people from the MPI applied for the insurance on October 7 and I didnt got my insurance card and papers until the second week of november, and to my surprise, the insurance charged me for October and November. So my question is this: Given that the insurance company charged me for the whole month of October can I submit the bills from my wife´s medical treatment for re reimbursement? even though the accident happened before I applied for the insurance? I have to stress that in the application forms for the insurance company made no questions about previous health conditions.

Thank you very much for your help.

Posted

This is a bit unclear, xiuh. When was the starting date for the insurance? They charged you for October, ok. There were no health questions??? Something wrong there. You and your wife didn´t need to go to a doctor for a medical check up? Also sounds very strange.

You need to contact the insurance person who stamped and signed the application form (with the help of the MPI ).Only he or she can really help.

By the way, also ask whether you have a so-called deductible/excess (German word: Selbstbeteiligung) in the contract ie you might have to pay the first x amount of medical bills per year yourself anyway.

Posted