Making pair of glasses

19 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi guys,

I am new to Berlin (although been in berlin for 3 months now) and would like to know where can i make a pair of glasses. My eyesight has increased and i am looking for a cheap optician who can make me glasses. And do i need to visit a doctor before visiting a optician or he can check my eyes and make glasses for me?

Looking forward to hear from you,

Cheers,

CS

Posted

If you have health insurance, you can go to a place like Fielmann or Robin Look and get glasses that don't have a co-pay (that is, they'll be effectively free for you). You're entitled to one pair every two years.

If you don't have health insurance, your problems are far greater than poor eyesight.

Posted

Fielmann and Apollo are two chain stores where you can get reasonably priced glasses. They will do a vision test for free if you buy your glasses there.

Our public health insurance doesn't pay anything towards glasses or contact lenses at all except for children under 18.

Posted

Hi,

Thank you for the quick responses.

I have a health insurance from Mawista. I hope it will help me get a pair of glasses :D

Posted

I don't think so, but check your policy to make sure.

Posted

If you have health insurance, you can go to a place like Fielmann or Robin Look and get glasses that don't have a co-pay (that is, they'll be effectively free for you). You're entitled to one pair every two years.

Not any more, at least not with public (gestzlichen) insurance, unless you are under 18 years old, have serious eyesight problems or medical issues with your eyes, and then only for the lenses, not the frames.

Posted

Let me go and ask them.

I just need to change the lenses on my glasses and i have a new prescription from some other optician so all they have to do is to change the lens on my old frame.

Posted

Shouldn't be a problem at all, it just won't be covered by your insurance.

Posted

Let me go and ask them.