Moving to Berlin for Job. 56k, good enough?

23 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi guys,

Q1)

I've recently had a few interviews with a multination company in Berlin called Zalando.

My approximate salary would be around 56k for a Senior position in IT as i have 5 years of experience in the field and what i'd like to believe, a rare talent for what i do.

Now i'm wondering whether this is a good number for a senior position for my amount of experience. Is it?

Q2)

-Also as a second question, should i be demanding some relocation assistance? As far as i'm seeing/feeling here, there may not be any(not sure), should i push them a bit into giving me some help there? I would of thought that a company with 5k Employees would have such a plan. As i understand, it's quite hard to rent an apartment, and that it requires a lot of money, is this true?

-Should i request some sort of Health Insurance? Is it usual for such a company to give something like this?

-Are Bonuses a given? Or must i specifically ask if i will be getting one every once in a while...

Q3)

-Anyone know anything about Zalando other than the mainstream news? A dark side of Zalando lets say? Bad experiences or rumors?

Any other advice would be helpful. I'm an ugly looking slightly fat person, and seeing how there's a lot of young pretty people in Berlin, i'm wondering if i'll be able to fit it and make friends there, what do you think about this? If given alcohol, i can be friends with anyone though.

Posted

Q1) Its an OK salary for a senior position. Depends how senior, and exactly what you do. Im guessing Senior Java Developer or similar? Id say somewhere between 50-60K is about right (some places pay more, many pay less)

Q2) In my experience you will not get anything, but there is no harm in asking.