Denied credit because I don't speak German

37 posts in this topic

Posted

I was planning on getting a small line of credit (less than 5k Euros) and have about the equivalent in my bank account. I'm a Canadian freelance consultant here in Germany.

Before my conversation even started about what the requirements are, I was told that Sparkasse does not provide any financing if you do not speak German.

Have to say, I'm a bit surprised. I'm sure there are many Europeans without German (French, Scandinavian, etc) that come to Germany to conduct business,etc and could benefit from local banking/financing options.

Could someone tell me if this is standard across Germany or is this just some isolated case.

Greatly appreciated.

Mittelove

Posted

What do you mean exactly by a "small line of credit"? A loan? Or an authorised overdraft?

Although I find it hard to believe that banks as a general rule will deny credit for non-German speakers, it is true that all correspondence, contracts etc. will be in German. I suppose this is one way for them to insure that they don't make agreements with people who may void them and then claim they didn't understand what they were signing up for. Is it possible that there was a miscommunication, that they may have stated they cannot help you unless you bring along a German speaker who will ensure you know what you're signing? Just as a matter of interest, how long have you been in Germany? And how long have you been with this bank? I think it's likely that the cause of their refusal lies there.

Posted

I understand that contracts and terms are specified in German and as such I would/should understands the details clearly. So why not develop options for a French, English, etc speaker. Why not take the business?