Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Risk of not changing the cartridge

9 posts in this topic

Posted

Does the filtering unit (the Patrone that must be replaced every so often) become merely ineffective? Or does it breed any harmful bacteria over time? I see many colleagues drinking straight from the tap. Is that any safer than drinking from an aged filter?

Posted

I've been drinking from the tap for 11 years and it's done me no harm. The water from the tap where I work (near Unterhaching) tastes way better than many bottled waters. The only reason I ever filter it is to stop the coffee machine becoming clogged up with the white stuff.

Posted

Tap water in Munich is fine, just a bit chalky.

I use Brita water for making coffee and tea only to protect my machine from the chalk. I change the filter as recommended. Came home from traveling once and Himself hadn't changed the filter and there were little black bits in the water. I assumed it was charcoal from the filter.

Posted

Water from the tap is perfectly safe, filtering it doesn't purify the water, it claims to remove some of the taste of chlorine and some of the calcium carbonates. Oh and it definitely removes money from your wallet.

Posted

The important thing to know is that unfiltered water in Germany is 100% safe.

It's no worse or better than even the correctly filtered water, so unless the filtering changes the taste of your local tapwater to something you prefer I just wouldn't bother filtering it.

Some people are convinced that brita water filters have made them sick, and certainly if you don't store your water correctly then it can be a problem over time.

There isn't any real way to know exactly how long a filter will last in a given environment, just a best guess at an average life.