Civilian Contractor with family of 6

13 posts in this topic

Posted

I am a contractor looking to take a job with my company in Darmstadt/Weisbaden and wanted to know if I can survive with a family of 6 on 50-60k for living allowence.

Posted

you mean 50-60k for lqa? it'd be tough, but doable as you're going to need an unusually large house for Germany. Are your kid school aged? you'll get creamed by the taxes on dodds, literaly bankrupt creamed unless your spouse homeschools.

Posted

Are your kid school aged? you'll get creamed by the taxes on dodds, literaly bankrupt creamed unless your spouse homeschools.

If he's a military contractor his children should be allowed to go to dodds schools for free, I believe.

He shouldn't have to pay for schooling if he's getting an allowance for housing according to what I've read on some of the other threads.

Posted

we had 3 kids in school at one time and our tax bills were colossal!! Can't imagine having 6!! You should easily be able to get by on $60,000 for LQA though.

Posted

Nicole, what kind of tax if the children are in the school?

Posted

Presumably he has 4 kids since he mentions that it's a family of six.

Posted

Yes I have 4 kids and a wife and she home schools them. I was told that my contract covers for the DOD schools if we wanted to, so the 50-60k would be for housing and utilities (LQA).

Posted

The LQA is intended to offset the cost of housing expenses in an overseas assignment. I don't know of any DOD contractors in the Darmstadt/Wiesbaden area who are having problems finding adequate housing with the combination of salary, LQA, and COLA.

The processing of DODDS payments for contractors vary, but generally these are considered other direct costs. The DODDS payments are added to the contractor's salary for US federal (maybe state) tax reporting.

Posted