Writing Master's Thesis in English

13 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello Everyone,

I am currently studying "Mechatronics Master" in Uni Siegen.

I am thinking to write my master thesis in next semester (starting from 01.04.2013) preferably in a company.

But finding a "Final Thesis writing position" in English is not easy task as very few company has that kind of offer.

Even having all the required qualifications, my 50 applications are rejected so far :( .

I am badly in need of suggestions from experienced member in this group .

Thanks in Advance.

p.s: I am fluent in English & I have A2 level knowledge in German.

Posted

Talk to your professors to determine whether they have any contacts (former students) whom you can contact. The university career centre might also be able to give you some advice and you should also ask them about any upcoming career fairs. If your university has an alumni programme for international students, you might be able to find someone with a similar background who is already working in Germany.

Having said all that, I’m not surprised that you are having difficulty finding a supervisor for your thesis. Most Mittelstand companies operate in German and are not able to accommodate a student who can’t speak German. I think your best (and probably only) option is networking.

Posted

Welcome to Toytown, siegener.

I have no equivalent experience to speak of, but if your written applications were titled (or referenced) "Final Thesis writing position" I would think some may have been dropped straight in to the round file (waste-bin) as I can't imagine many folk in Europe would be familiar with your terminology.