Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Creative family on sabatical - childcare? meets?

7 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi Everyone,

I'm arriving in Berlin in early April 2013 along with my husband and our 2 year old boy (he'll be 3 in June). We'll be in Berlin on a research trip. We are both Arts PhD students. I'm a professional author (fiction) and my husband is a multimedia artist. He does a lot with music, spoken word and film.

I'm sure Berlin has a lot to offer, but we are hoping to meet some like minded people too. I'm also hoping to find some flexible intensive German tuition. Any recommendations?

Ideally we'd love to find a temporary place at a bilingual Kita for our little boy. We're quite open to the kind of Kita it is. He goes to forest school here, and also has a childminder. Do you think it's likely we'd find somewhere willing to offer us perhaps half days? Or should we assume this is unlikely and start looking for a nanny? Do you have any advice about this?

We'll be staying in the Prenzlauer Berg area, and most of my research will be in the Mitte area, so any nurseries would have to be within a reasonable distance.

I'd also love to know about any meet ups in that area. Does the area we'll be staying in have toddler groups? Not necessarily for English speakers. I don't have good German but I am a linguist at heart and love to immerse myself. We'll try anything and it would be nice to get involved.

Posted

How long are you staying? If you register as residents, which should not be a problem as I guess you are UK citizens, then your boy is entitled to a kita place once he turns 3 - monthly cost being very small to cover lunch and a few bits and bobs.

The problem may be to get a bilingual kita place, as the are often waiting lists. As visiting academics, you may get prioritised, but as always here, make sure you understand the process and fill out all the right forms. There should be some people on Toytown who have been through this and can help.