Considering moving to Stuttgart with kids

41 posts in this topic

Posted

My husband just got a job offer to work on post at Stuttgart. He is a civilian employee, so I know there are ton of great benefits to moving there. The thing that worries me the most is what life will be like for me. I have three little kids (ages 4, 2, and 5 months) and am worried about going crazy at home. Does the post offer preschool for my oldest? If so, what kid of experience have you had with it? Is there a good community of people? Are there things that I will be able to get involved in WITHOUT having to put my kids in day care? Also, I have a degree in Theatre. Is there anything like that I could get involved with. I've never lived outside of Utah, Idaho, and Arizona, so I'm really nervous about this decision. If any other moms have insight, please share!!!

Posted

Welcome to Stuttgart you’re gonna love it here and it’ll be a great adventure. Stuttgart is a big community with lots folks from everywhere in the US (as well as German and other European employees). We are comprised of 4 separate installations (named Patch Barracks, Panzer Kaserne, Kelley Barracks, & Robinson Barracks). As a CIV you’ll have a 99.9% chance you’ll be living off-post on the economy (along with most everyone else –we almost all live off-post). We have a great theater community with many productions (and awards); a great Arts and multi-craft shop; a lively outdoor recreation center. You said civilian employee -contractor or civil service (i.e. GS)? It matters as the entitlements vary depending on the category. Also if you know the org (EUCOM, AFRICOM, etc...) he will work for we can tell you (mostly likely) what post he will be working on.

Hourly care can be a challenge for some.

Full-time care can be had at facilities on-post (there’s a waiting list sometimes).

I am not a Mom (nor have I ever been one) & I do not have kids (though I have been one).

Posted

PS: I´m not a mom!