Interning in Basel and staying in Germany

9 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello,

I am studying in Germany and will be doing my Master thesis in Basel (about 7-8 months). Is it better to stay in Basel while working there, or living in Weil/Lorrach/some other place in Germany? I will hardly be paid around 500 CHF , so I will definitely be looking for part time jobs. I hope there is no tax reduction for students . Any suggestions on where I could live and sites for the same would be greatly appreciated. I have to apply for my visa soon and the Swiss institute is recommending the cross border permit. So, I am looking for quick suggestions to take a decision and inform them about the same. Also, I tried to look for accommodation in Weil on some sites but could not find any . If anyone has any contacts/suggestions, it would be very very helpful.

Best regards,

Menorca

Posted

The main thing that comes to mind is that everything from food to rents and in between is going to be close to three times as expensive in Switzerland as it is in Germany.

So if it was me, I'd try to live on the German side of the border.

Posted

I'm curious as to why a Swiss institution would recommend that a non-EU national live in Germany. Why should Germany give you a visa to live there if you are studying in another country? Granted Germany is cheaper and many EU citizens choose to do the cross-border thing but for EU citizens it's not a problem. For non-EU (at least for working) it seems a bit more tricky.

Posted

I am on a student visa in Germany till December, 2013, and my desired duration of thesis in Basel is April to October. Hence, the institution thought that maybe living in Germany and commuting everyday would be less of hassle for me. But, I wanted recommendations as to what would be better and where I could find part-time jobs as well as reasonable accommodation.

Posted

Anyone living in Weil/Lorrach/any place near the border???Any references for accommodation?

Posted