Vocal fry or creaky voice

29 posts in this topic

Posted

Interesting piece, even if it takes about 20 minutes of your time:

http://www.slate.com/articles/podcasts/lexicon_valley/2013/01/lexicon_valley_on_creaky_voice_or_vocal_fry_in_young_american_women.html

Executive summary:

- used mainly by young American women, not by American men or British women

- relatively recent phenomenon

- identified in blind listening tests with professionalism or someone on the way to be a professional

- hypothesis - creak emulates lower pitch of male voice

Not that I agree with everything of the above, but listening was an eye-opener.

Posted

Ironically these guys don't even notice themselves using vocal fry throughout this podcast.

When I studied linguistics in the eighties, it was more fashionable to discuss 'creaky voice' in the context of males, especially older and middle-easterm males (I'm not making this up it was in mainstream textbooks) using it to patronise females. That says much about the political agenda of linguistics and discourse analysis in the late 20th century, and little else.

In fact creaky voice is used in a whole variety of contexts: to express sexual interest, to express faux uncertainty in academic discourse, to show unconcernedness in the face of a threat - I could find you a dozen examples in a flash.

These guys focussed one one particular point - the way that young, would-be successful women speak. The sub-text is that young women have no right to ANY voice (let alone sucess) except that dictated by men. As they pretty much said several times , young women should stfu and stop annoying the clever men.

Notice how the guy is actively training his daughter to speak in the way he prefers - instilling her with the notion that her voice is his to direct. In fact he is probably teaching her the best to annoy the feck out of him, and she'll probably use it in spades when she reaches her teens.