Opting out of tax/social-security items

14 posts in this topic

Posted

I've just discovered that I'm going to have to switch from being selbständig to being a permanent employee. I tried hard to fight it but lost.

So the employer is asking me what salary I want (not that I'll necessarily get what I ask for).

So I'm thinking that currently as selbständig I invoice for X, pay Y in taxes and expenses (e.g. accountant, health insurance), and I'm left with net income of Z.

Naturally I'd like to try and end up with the same "Z" amount of net income. As a contractor, I get to take deductions (office, electric, phone and so on). I won't have that benefit as a permie.

I've worked out that my net income (Z) is currently 62% of X (my gross/invoiced amount). The thing I'm not sure about though is how many of the items you normally see on a German's wage slip I'm paying. I don't know if I pay unemployment insurance, solidaritätszuschlag and the other small % items. It's a bit late to be calling my accountant.

My main question is, as a Brit living here, are we allowed as permanent employees to avoid any of these charges? For example, if we're not entitled to a pension or unemployment insurance, it would be daft contributing to it and maybe we could get an exemption.

Using this german income tax calculator I think I'd need to ask for X+10% in order to roughly maintain my current net income after switching to permie. Without the pension/unemployment contribution (which you can do in that calculator) I don't need to increase that X at all. I'd much rather say to the company "keep the salary the same and just switch me to employee". It sounds better. It might even seem like I'm making a sacrifice.

edit: Single/No Kids

Posted

Employee? Brit? Irrelevant. You have to pay into unemployment insurance ( if you´re publicly health insured ) and the Soli and the pension as an employee..

Posted

Thanks John, but can you try again, with what I want to hear ;)