Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Berlin apartment building increasingly unsafe

8 posts in this topic

Posted

I apologize if these issues have been addressed before. I searched the forums for similar posts but this is my first time posting so I am afraid I may have missed something.

We moved into a nice middle tier apartment (not cheap but not the priciest) September 1st. The building was great. Locked front and back doors, basement storage space, elevator, not too many apartments. It's near some of the touristy areas and there are many hotels nearby, but it is residential and pretty quiet. We loved the apartment.

We first noticed that the maintenance man wasn't very helpful and didn't respond quickly. Not the end of the world if it's just a matter of installing something. However Mid November, things seemed to start to fall apart. Suddenly the elevator wasn't working for days on end. Then when it was fixed it only had service to certain floors. The elevator was one of the reasons we chose this apartment and we actually depend upon it. So now the elevator works again - but since mid November it has stopped at every floor but ours. So this means we have to take the stairs up or down a floor to access it. For a week we tolerated it, but now over a month later it has become a complete inconvenience and frustration.

We have called the landlord and maintenance man over this multiple times. They give a vague answer and dismiss us.

Then early December our basement storage unit was robbed despite the fact that it was locked. Everything was taken from it including some extremely large items that are extremely inconvenient to move. This would mean a multiple person operation making a decent amount of noise and most likely shock at the weight. Multiple people would have then had to carry the stolen items out of the building and into a car because there would be no way to walk away from it.