Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

German language is hard

10 posts in this topic

Posted

So I'm new in this Toytown forum and I gotta say, It's an awesome project and very helpful for all English speakers here in Germany. I came here 2 months ago to study at FH Aachen (Jülich campus) and I'm living near Düren. Everything is doing fine here and I'm really happy.

I speak and write French and English pretty good but (you saw the "but" coming) there is a problem with the German language. Anyone had/still have this issue? When I talk with Germans in English, they become unfriendly and reply in German. I don't blame them.

I once read an old quote that says: "Life is too short to learn German" I don't know who said it but I'm pretty sure he was a bit lazy. The best way to learn a foreign language is to speak it, or at least try to. And when you finally acknowledge it, you could enjoy life here even more by meeting new people and making friends. However, my main problem is that I'm not training enough and I don't have much contact with German speakers (Except when ordering a BigMac from McDonald's) so I was wondering if anyone here is interested in meeting up around Cologne or Aachen, and maybe we can all help each other with this issue. Please share if you have ideas.

Thanks in advance for any help provided.

Posted

Have you thought about heading over to a Language School, as they usually have groups that meet up several times a week to practice their Deutsch Sprachen. Or even at the U that your attending...

I have seen plenty of meeting up groups listed on TT and continue to use the search option to see if someone posts near your location.

German is difficult, but I am starting to get better with speaking it. It has helped by taking an intensive kurs.

Good luck to you.

Posted

Hey,