Lidl, chicken, and antibiotics.

46 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all, hope everyone's enjoying the snow!

I eat quite a lot of chicken breast from Lidl, I'd say about 2 packs (2x600g) per week. I can't resist it for the price they give, but until this morning, when my friend told me that Lidl use more anti-bios in their chicks than Rewe/Toom/et al, that I am really contemplating switching to chicken from the market/organic, and eating less of it.

She couldn't back up her claims, but told me to have a look on the internet. I've had a look, but could only find bits and bobs and nothing dated recently, so can any Lidl enthusiasts on here point me in the right direction?

:)

Posted

Although I'm no expert, I highly doubt that the chicken bought from any supermarket is "healthy" - they wouldn't be able to sell 600g for a only a few euros if they weren't using chicken from battery farms that have been fed antibiotics and other junk. I also don't really see them advertising the fact, so it could be hard to find definite information. You get what you pay for though.

Posted

Animal production in Germany uses 900 tons of antibiotics per year

Do you have a source for this?

Posted

Do you have a source for this?

I saw it in a presentation by Dr. Felix Prinz zu Loewenstein about his book on organic farming, but you can also find it here (in German):

http://www.stern.de/tv/sterntv/test-mit-erschreckenden-ergebnissen-stern-tv-findet-keime-in-biofleisch-1789634.html

Posted

Dr. Felix Prinz zu Loewenstein

Ha! He and Prince Charles must enjoy swopping composting tips.

Posted

There's a reason why it sais "Fleisch nur gut durchgegart verzehren" on the package.

Posted

Yes, because eating raw chicken is not a good idea. Even if you reared the bloody thing yourself.

Posted

http://www.google.ca/search?q=superbug&hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=hid&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&prmd=ivnsu&source=univ&tbm=nws&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=ry64UKnLPKXDigKYj4DoAg&ved=0CCkQqAI