Assistenzarzt Interview for Chirurgie

14 posts in this topic

Posted

I have been offered a phone interview appointment with Adecco GmbH a month from now. I swear my German conversation needs some serious improvement, which I will try to obtain by then.

I am an American osteopathic physician, looking to move to Germany for a resident physician position. I am working on getting my language certificate, and can write and read German better than I can speak it at this point, so I am very nervous about this phone interview.

I have a few questions:

1. Does anyone know the interview process in terms of resident physician positions? Here in the US the entire interview process is completely different.

2. I am applying for an Allgemein- und Visceralchirurgie position, do hospitals normally ask technical expertise questions such as details about surgeries? (I need to review German medical terms.)

3. How is the hierarchy in the surgery department?

4. How are first years as opposed to second years delineated?

5. What are the duties of a first year?

6. What is the typical salary for an Assistenzarzt after taxes?

7. Any advice on how to conduct myself in a telephone interview with German doctors?

8. Are there other steps involved in the interview process?

9. How much endoscopic surgeries as opposed to open surgeries do German hospitals normally perform and what are the general expectations of the oberarzt and chefarzt of a first year in terms of hands-on experience?

10. Is it appropriate for me to send a thank you letter after the interview? And do the hospitals prefer if you call them or they call you?

I appreciate your time and consideration.

Posted

Adecco is not a hospital; it is a temp agency.