Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Finance/Banking Jobs in Germany

13 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi Everyone,

Apologies if this question has been covered previously. I did find some older posts but looking for some more specific guidance.

I am considering a move to Germany.

I have several years UK experience in banking/finance/projects. My mother tongue is English.

I have learned some basic German (lower intermediate) but not good enough to work in an office.

Pretty flexible on location however believe that Frankfurt is likely to be the most practical location.

I have approached various agencies based in Germany for advice.

Can anyone recommend some firms and agencies open to assist English speaking professionals?

Has anyone had experience with moving from US/UK to Germany and landing an equivalent role? How did you do it?

How should I set my expectations?

How buoyant is the market at the moment? What types of roles are on offer - permanent/contract/other?

Thanks in advance. Happy to provide more info.

Posted

I am experiencing the same problem. I am a recent Finance grad from the US and It's been near impossible to find a position. I am moving to Munich on December 11th and I still haven't secured a position! I have been applying literally everywhere for the last three months. Allianz is very English friendly you should start their but I haven't had much luck.

Posted

I guess that I am stating the obvious here, but it is much more diffiult to find work in Germany from overseas. Life gets much easier when you are in the destination city.

There are several things to bear in mind. Germany tends to be much less agent oriented than London, and many companies use their website as a primary location for advertising positions. Almost everyone speaks english at a decent level, but speaking German is really important in most jobs.

Posted