Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Could be time for a career change!

56 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all,

I moved to Germany in February following a redundancy in the UK. My Mrs is German, so It made sense (at the time anyway!)

She's got herself all sorted, working for the same company she worked for before she moved to the UK with me! I on the other hand, am finding things really difficult!

When I arrived here in February, I went to the Arbeitsamt, got all of the registration stuff out of the way and started looking for jobs while trying to improve my German at home. I then started a German course (full time) which has just ended.

I'm finding myself at a total loss on the job-front. The Arbeitsamt have been as close to unhelpful as you could imagine! No benefits, and constantly sending me letters requesting I apply for jobs I know nothing about!

In the UK I worked in IT. I have 8 years experience in that job, with the same company and have a host of qualifications they put me through on various bits of equipment. However, according to the Arbeitsamt, all these certificates and experience count for nothing without a German Ausbildung! They've basically said i shouldn't even apply for IT jobs as i'd be wasting my time. The only bit of advice i've had from the Arbeitsamt is that I should do an IT Ausbildung at a technical college they're in cahoots with. Naturally, despite the fact i'm broke and they won't give me any benefits, they expect me to pay for this 2 year Ausbildung out of my own pocket!

Having read the prospectus for this Ausbildung, It's worryingly simple stuff! Literally things 12 year olds can probably do in their sleep, let alone someone who has been actively doing most of the things covered in this course for the best part of ten years in exchange for a monthly wage! It's just a no-go. I can't afford it, and except for the qualification at the end of it, would be a waste of my time.