Applying for Master, German equiv. 2.9 grade

30 posts in this topic

Posted

Hey guys,

I am currently studying in Lithuania computer science, and my plan is to apply for master's degree in Germany next year. The only problem is that my Grade point average is 2.9 according to German system, which is really low.

Now some universities have GPA limit, like no less than 2 or 2.5, so those automatically fall off. But then other universities do not mention minimal GPA, for example Technische Universität München. I asked them and they said there is no GPA requirement. But do you think I still have a chance there or no?

I wonder what are my chances of applying to master's degree in Germany with 2.9 GPA (computer science or informatics).

Thanks!

Posted

The general rule is that they won't accept anyone with an average of more than 2.5.

If you have a good CV, maybe 2.6.

1.0 = you got at least 95% in the exams

1.3 = 90%

1.7 = 85%

2.0 = 80%

2.3 = 75%

2.5 = 72%

Oh, and TUM is one of the most sought after universities in Germany, you need a much better grade than 2.5 to get in...

Posted

Ok, if I got 2.9 according to German system, what universities I should aim for, or there are none? For example those with ranking of ~400 in the world are fine or I still have no chances? :(

Posted

Do you need a Master program taught in English, or could you also study in German?

Posted

Only in English. I know basics of German because I lived there several months, but still not enough to study in German.

Maybe universities release last year's admission grade tresholds so students can see what chances they got when applying?

Posted

I have to agree with Panda, I don't think you have much chance of being admitted to TUM with your grades. Although some programmes have a few spaces reserved for foreign students, programmes taught in English are very competitive.

Why don't you try to first gain a few years of experience before starting your masters?

Posted