Going out alone to a bar

80 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all,

I am new to Toytown and just immigrated to Germany a few days ago. I am here alone without knowing anyone, so a good way to get to know some people is to go out. I am not familiar at all with the German culture and their way of thinking, so I wanted to ask: Is it OK in Germany to go out alone in a bar or something like that, or will people think you are weird/antisocial/pathetic, etc.? Thank you

Posted

Do not worry, Niemand - it´s normal here. You are not weird or antisocial. Why should you be? Don´t you go to tavernas in Greece?

Just a point: your Toytown name Niemand suggests you may feel unworthy.. I´m probably and hopefully wrong.

Be yourself, be happy and get chatting to people in a bar...lots to talk about at the moment!

You´ll be fine if you will be sociable, friendly etc.

I don´t know where you´re living but check out the Toytown gatherings in your town and make friends.

Best wishes

Posted

Thanks john g. The reason I'm asking is because in my country sometimes is a little strange if someone goes out alone (some other times people don't care.It depends on the place (restaurant,bar) and if u r living in a city or not I guess.) The nickname is just the first German word that came to mind. I will check the Toytown gatherings as you suggested. Thanks again

Posted

Niemand: I and my girlfriend go to Greece a couple of times a year and love it. I think the problem is in smaller places for women to go alone but that´s in really small old-fashioned villages, where the old widows dressed in black go to the cemetery every day...my girlfriend and I go to Crete and know such villages!

PS: can´t wait to go back there next Spring: we love it.

But now it´s time for you to sort out your life here and I hope you have work! And you need to get started on German lessons..maybe a bit difficult.

Posted

john g. I know what u r talking about. Glad u like Greece.