Moving to Aachen from North Yorkshire with family

18 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all

I am an automotive engineer have been headhunted and offered a new job working in Aachen. I will be moving likely in the new year with my wife and 15 month old child.

where are good family places to live? I have head that Walheim is nice, and have been looking on housing websites at Rott.

Anything I should be thinking about and any advice for a not yet German speaker, about a move to Germany from the UK?

sorry for the not very specific questions, this is becoming real and I am getting a little apprehensive

thanks

Duncan

Posted

Firstly, don't worry. Secondly, trawl TT for information. Most of what you will want to know is around and won't be too tough to find by searching. It is a very good starting point. I suspect that there won't be a question you will have that won't have been covered.

I don't know Aachen so can't speak for it, but I there has been some Aachen chat recently in the NRW section and if memory serves an Aachen expats facebook page. Again, that might be a good source of info.

I'm not suggesting that the transition will be a flawless and perfect process, but I'm sure you'll be just fine. Congrats on the job and enjoy your time in Germany.

Posted

Hi Absolute47,

as I live in Aachen, feel free to PM me questions concerning this area.

CU

Franklan

Posted

Try this for meeting local English speaking people.

http://www.facebook.com/groups/144900475013/

Posted