German wife wants divorce

77 posts in this topic

Posted

I am not a lawyer so no legal advise just my opinion which you probably won't like very much - I am not a native English speaker so I appologise if my English is not 100% correct. Sorry but this sounds like you have been pretty much living off your wife (her parents). If she wants a divorce and is not asking you to move back to Germany, then she simply doesn't wants you back. If I were you I would go on with my life in Australia, even if you are hurt and angry, and check if getting divored in Australia instead of in Germany is the better option for you (financially) - I think in Germany your wife is eligible e.g. to a percentage of your retirement funds (if you worked) which does not apply if you get divorced in another country - thats why I got divorced in the US. If your wife doesn't work - even if her familiy is wealthy and supporting her and the children - I am sure that you still must pay child support and probably even spousal support at least until the little one can join Kindergarden (remember you made these children, too, so why would you not want to support them financially?) - unless she waves this right which I am not sure she can even if she wanted (German law?). Why would you contest the prenup? Can't you take responsibility for your own life? This will just make her mad and you will have a harder time seeing or talking to your kids on the phone or skype. Try to be reasonable with her, come to a mutual agreement that suits both of you (including visitation rights) and behave like civilised people for the sake of the children.

Posted

You need the answers to these questions before you decide to cross the world to be with her again.

Not necessarily. The question is not just whether he's going to cross the world to be with her again because there are kids involved and, even if the relationship with his wife is beyond repair, it's entirely possible that he may want to be close to his kids.