Decluttering your life

93 posts in this topic

Posted

I´ve lost your phone number, Jeremy!! Does that count? :D (Please PM it again!!).

Agree, though, in all seriousness, it´s liberating! It took me until 4 years ago to throw away all the essays I ever wrote at University..me thinking I might need them again for some ever reason. No, it was my ego talking. They were crap when I wrote them and they still would be!

GREAT idea for a thread, by the way!

Posted

I have been decluttering seriously for about 18 months, but it's a constant and on-going process. Especially as I have two little ones who create art and clutter and HA constantly. For me, at least, it's like AA- something I need to do a day at a time, one foot n front of the other, dealing with my book addiction as I go. Flylady.net has helped a lot.

How is it going, Jeremy? Is it something you have achieved or-like me- something you know you will need to work on for the foreseeable future?

Posted

I've been seriously decluttering for the past month or two, but there is so much more to do. However, it isn't lying around - it's in plastic tonainers and shelved in the garage, so everything looks deceptively neat. I've tried it before, but this time for sure!

There are hoarder shows on TV that I watch just to keep myself on the strait and narrow. It would be easy to be a horror show of accumulation.

Posted

Declutter your mind and the rest will follow.

Now that would be the challenge of a lifetime.

We're constantly decluttering and getting better at it every day. Very liberating having to do without all the STUFF that no one really needs.

Posted

Did it when moving to Germany - out of 70-something boxes, five ended up in the garbage.

The problem is that, six months later, I see them building up again - a little thing here, a little thing there, something broken which I'll fix some day, something bought and never used

Posted