Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Calculating my tax refund

30 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello,

this year I will have worked 8 months out of 12. My girlfriend says i will get a refund. True?

More specifically:

- It's my first year working here

- I make 60kE brutto

- I got a 5kE bonus (flattened by a 40% tax)

- I will have spent 2kE of train tickets to go to work

thanks

Posted

Since I am not a tax advisor, I can only point out one general issue:

You wrote that you worked this year for only 8 months. If you didn't get any income (or at least considerable lower income) in the remaining 4 months, you can refund a lot of money. The reason is as follows: The more money you earn in Germany, the higher the applied income tax rate will be. As you probably know, the government deduct every month already the income tax from your salary. In order to estimate the appropriate income tax rate, your whole income for the year is calculated by multiplying your monthly income by 12 (in the reality it's a bit more complicated, but never mind...). According to this estimation your average tax rate is determined. But since you only worked for 8 months, your true income for the year is actually much lower then the estimation, and therefore your average tax rate should be lower, too. That's why you can apply for a tax refund to claim this difference back. But keep in mind, that income in other countries also counts for the calculation of the average income tax rate. So if you worked in the remaining 4 months in the USA with the same salary, than this paragraph didn't apply to you!

Travel expenses for going from home to work are also considered for the tax refund.

In order to get such a tax refund (for 2011), you should go to a tax advisor (or "Lohnsteuerhilfe" - might be cheaper) next year.

Posted

For a quick view there are tax calculation tools (Gehaltsrechner brutto-netto) e.g.

http://www.spiegel.de/wirtschaft/service/0,1518,223811,00.html