Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Smoked liver and blood sausage

23 posts in this topic

Posted

Just been out to a harvest festival type thang over at a place called Hausler-Hof, and one place there was selling smoked liver and blood sausage - you wanna eat them as a pair, one of each. They are only available for part of the year, and with a shitload of mashed potato, are a MUST. The sausages can be slow fried, or steeped (left in boiling water off the heat) for a while, then finished in a hot pan. Depends on the thickness, so ask your butcher for cooking times.

It really, really is awesome. Forget your prejudices against blood and liver based food, and just eat them. Trust me, I'm a chef.

Posted

Smoked liver and blood sausage

:o

I‘ll pass.

Posted

Trust me, I'm a chef.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Back under your bridge with no billy goats gruff for supper tonight!

The liver sausage is nice; the blood sausage is disgustilating, as are all blood sausages and "food" products, including Blutwurst and Black Pudding.

Bleah.

woof.

Posted

I don't eat any organs or bodily fluids that are named as such. Don't have any prejudice against them, just that all the ones I've tried: liver, blood sausage, chitterlings, etc... make me want to hurl. The texture is just wrong.

That said, I'll eat raw beef, or seafood sashimi, etc with no problem.

Posted

I'm all about it, but my gf would throw up on me, so where can I get it downtown @ a restaurant when I'm away from the gf?

Posted

Well I know I would be into it. Whats it called and is it generally available from all butchers at this time of year? (Actually tried leberknödl at the rosenheim herbstfest yesterday for the first time which was really nice)

Posted

Forget your prejudices against blood and liver based food, and just eat them. Trust me, I'm a chef.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>