I have little experience of dentists

66 posts in this topic

Posted

I remember as a child my mother sending me to a state dentist. He took one look in my mouth and announced I needed 6 or 7 fillings. He was rather irate when I told him my mother wanted me to get fillings from our regular dentist. My regular dentist said I had no need of fillings. This left me convinced that dentists want to fill my teeth to make money, not because its medically necessary.

Over the years I'd sometimes get tooth pain but it would go after a few weeks. About 5 years ago a tooth pain lasted months so I reluctantly visited a dentist in Munich for the first time in 25+ years. He proposed removing the one metal filling I had in a back molar and redoing in nice ceramic, filling the tooth beside it which was the problem, and patching the next tooth along. I accepted.

He also said he would like to patch a cavity on the other side of the mouth, but wasn't going to push the issue as I seemed to have a deep mistrust of dentists. Perceptive lad.

Fast forward 5 years, I'm in Nepal, and the same area has been bothering me for 3 months. In particular if I bite hard on something hard like seeds I get a shooting pain that lasts minutes. I passed a dentist, and went in for a chat with the dental hygienist. She sprayed cold air on my teeth, one of the ones with the filling hurt, and she announced I needed a root canal, which takes 1 week and costs about €60. I thought root canals were the final stage of tooth decay before you yanked out the sorry molar?

She also found the same cavity the German dentist has refrained from filling 5 years ago, and tried to explain that a filling now saves nine or something. I of course was having none of it, if its remained stable and not bothered me in 5 years, leave well alone.