Job applications rejected. What is my problem?

111 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello,

I am an Australian software engineer looking for work in Germany.

I applied to several positions in Germany, which were asking for several years of experience and knowledge in C++ which I have, but I never get called up for even a phone interview. It is always a nice rejection letter.

I have no idea why. I need some help figuring out what might be a problem. Maybe it is something I can improve in my application.

So here are my ideas:

Is it the work permit?

I dont have a work permit (the ads never mention this as a prerequisite) but in this forum and other place on the internet this isnt a big problem if the job offer is made.

Is it that my German isn't fluent?

I speak some basic German (I attended courses up to levels A1 and A2) and I believe I can get along just fine, around the city and around the shops and even in the office. I will learn the rest. Specially if the company is working on projects in English. In any case I only apply to ads in English or to ads in German that mention only that English is required and not German.

Is it the language of the application itself?

I always apply in English. If the ad is in German and I apply in English is this rejected right away even if the ad said "gute English kentnisse". I guess I could write an application in German. I know enough to write a simple application (with the help of Google) of course.

Is it my location?

I am not currently in Germany so it might be perceived costly to bring me for an interview to Germany. I am in Ukraine. I would however even come on my own expenses to the interview if the offer was serious (say after the phone interview or something).

Is it my experience?