Switch internet provider

13 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all,

Here's my current situation:

I surf internet with Vodafone, I'm very happy with their service, but for a 6,000 Mb/s connection, every month I pay €29.95.

I've seen that several other providers can offer better speeds at a lower price, so although I'm happy with Vodafone, I prefer saving money and getting a higher speed ;)

Do you know if to quit a contract with Vodafone I need to pay something? I've been using it for almost 2 years now.

Also, which other provider do you suggest?

Unitymedia seems to offer a good speed/price ratio (16,000 Mb/s for €20), but as far as I know that's a cable connection and I'll need a Wi-Fi router to send the signal to two laptops and a PS3.

Any suggestion will be very appreciated, thanks.

Posted

While you will need to check your contract it's likely you signed up for a minimum 2 years with Vodafone and if you don't cancel within 3 months of the end of the minimum period then the contract extends for another year and once again you need to cancel 3 months before the end of that period. If you want to leave before the end of the contracted period, and have no good reason to do so then they'll simply charge you for the remainder of the time to the end of the contract, so there is no benefit in moving away, unless you can schedule it to coincide with the contract renewal and remember to formally cancel 3 or more months before.

Posted

Hi,

Thanks a lot for the quick reply.

I've got this reply from Unitymedia:

Der Vertrag hat eine Mindestvertragslaufzeit von 12 Monaten. Einmalig werden 19,90 € Aktivierungsgebühr berechnet. Der Vertrag beim bisherigen Anbieter wird nur von uns gekündigt, wenn Sie die Rufnummer mitnehmen möchten. Ansonsten würden wir Sie bitten, den Vertrag selbst zu kündigen. Unity 1play 16000 würde Sie 20 €/Monat kosten.

What do you think? Does that mean that I won't have to pay contract-termination fees?

Posted