U25 English Speakers in Konstanz

14 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi Everyone!!

My name is Krista and I am about to move to Konstanz to live with my partner. I have only been in Germany 1 week and speak absolutely no German :-S ... yet, now trying to learn it quick smart ;-)

My partner is German and I am Australian. I am studying a Bachelor of Business and at least for the beginning I won't be working here. I'm friendly, bubbly and love meeting new people!

I would love to meet people in the area and to go out shopping or pubs, clubs, dinners, or coffee even just hang out at home to watch a movie or whatever! Really up for anything :-)

Also if anyone has any tips about moving to the area, learning German... everything and anything would be appreciated!

Love to hear from you,

Krista :-D

Posted

Hi Krista, welcome to Konstanz!

I think you will be able to find lots of other English speakers at the uni. Whenever I've happened to be near the student residence area I've heard a lot of English. You can try to schedule a meet-up on our usual meetup thread but I think most people won't fit into your "U25" category :)

Good luck with the German. If you want to learn by yourself, try this online course or go to the library or bookstore (the Osiander on Kanzleistraße downtown has good selection) and get some language-learning stuff. There are some good suggestions in Best ways to learn German. You could take courses at the Volkhochschule, Sprachendienst or Inlingua... maybe some other places too; I'm not really sure (I kind of hate taking classes).

Konstanz and the Bodensee in general is a really nice area. I've been here 2 years now. If you have any questions let me know!

Cheers,

Gina

Posted

If you are studying at the Uni then they should have intensive German courses for you. You do study at the Uni, don't you? ;)