Claiming back home-office expenses on tax return

54 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi there. I'm a registered freelancer. I've set up a home-office in my apartment (separate room with own doors) and wanted to know if anyone has a good guide on how I go about offsetting the costs (Miete, Hausverwaltung, Net/Phone, Strom yada yada) against tax. Is there a standard schedule of percentages or do you simply chance your arm?

Posted

Assuming you use this "home office" exclusively and demonstrably in the course of your business then you can usually offset any costs accrued on your annual tax return. Where these costs are part of a larger charge (e.g. rent, heating, power, water, rubbish collection, insurance, ground tax, cleaning. etc) then it's quite simply the %age of floorspace, so if you have 150m² of apartment and an office room of 30m² then 20% of all total costs can be offset. Furniture and fittings such as PC, printer, scanner for the office can also offset so long as they are used exclusively for your work, but depending on value may need to be linearly depreciated over 3 or 4 years. You can also offset renovation and decoration costs (but not too often!). The "home office" must not be used for any other function, so you can't have a bed in it for example (otherwise it would be a bedroom too!). When you first declare this on your tax return you may be asked to submit plans of the apartment to show layout and size, along with photos of the room.

Posted

As YL6 said.

If you can read German its well covered in Steuertips für Angestellte which may also be available in your local library for consultation.

There is possibly also a Steuertips für Selbstständiger.

Posted

I attempted to claim back home office expenses. I even sent off photos and a floor plan of my apartment to prove that I have a separate room with just a desk, chair, and office shelves. They didn't believe me though and instead issued an appointment to come and inspect the following week.