Meters on German radiators - central heating

89 posts in this topic

Posted

today the fellah from the water/heat company is coming to our apartment to read the meters...

i'm an engineer and for the past two years i've been trying to figure out how exactly the meters that are stuck onto the side of the radiators work... i've asked all my colleagues and nobody can give me a straight answer...

do they gauge how much heat you have used throughout the year by measuring the amount of liquid that has evaporated from the little tubes? do they eventaully have to fill up the tubes again?

is this not open to a lot of abuse? if this is their sole measure it can't be very accurate... or can it?

enlighten me please!!!

post-16-1134046629_thumb.jpg

Posted

Yes, that's how they work. When they come to read them they replace the little unit with a new one and it starts all over again. If you can take it off the heater yourself then in theory nothing is going out of it and you could probably save some money.

Posted

are you sure they actually replace them each time? i don't think they did last time...

i think they must just measure the difference and replace when it gets close to the end

...but what if you have a mega hot summer and the meter is sitting in the direct sun or at least a reflection... the liquid can evaporate away and you have to pay for nothing?

Posted

Maybe they don't replace everytime then.

I'm sure it's not a perfect system, but most people seem to think that overall it works out reasonably well. I'm gonna have a closer look at mine this evening and figure it out. I'm pretty sure they just come off with a normal screwdriver.

Posted

I don't geddit. Surely the guy from the gas company just reads the gas meter? I would say the thingy on the radiator is just some kind of rough indication of how efficient the heating is or something (i.e. how much gas was used over the year vs how hot it was in the apartment), just for the maintenance dude.

Posted