Fitness first gyms contract

48 posts in this topic

Posted

I'm writing to you now, as I have no idea where else to write.. And I think I will need a professional legal help in this case. I'm a resident, of a EU country. In June 2009 I was visiting my partner in Germany, in Frankfurt for a month and because I had some free time and a bit of money saved, I decided to subscribe to a gym called Fitness First. The offer was that I can get the membership card for free plus one month of the gym for 40 euros. The person that gave me this contract made me believe that it's just for one month and if I won't prolong the contract it will expire.I have to say.. I had no previous experience with gyms and this type of agreements. The contract was in German, language I don't speak (neither does my partner). So I signed it. After one month, unaware of the fact that the contract is still valid, I left Germany and went back to the country of my residency. I used my local sim card so took off the German one from my phone. Then, in September, I came back to Germany for couple of days, and to my surprise, Fitness First called me and told me to pay 180 euros for all the months since June. So on September 14th I went to Fitness First with a letter explaining my situation, saying I don't want to use the gym anymore and that I haven't been using their services at all. I also wrote I haven't been properly informed about the conditions of the contract and I don't want o pay for the services I haven't used. The letter was stamped by Fitness Club ( I have a stamped copy) and they promised they would take care of my case. And so I came back to Germany as an Erasmus student, registered myself with the city council and didn't expect any further consequences from Fitness First. Today I checked my mail and saw the bill for 780 euros from this gym sent by the vindication company, that additionally charged me 100 euros for their service. I am really crushed, as I don't have that amount of money, even