Advice on apartment rental in Berlin

134 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello everyone

I have been in Berlin now for almost 6 months. After few months of flat sharing, I decided to start the search for a place on my own. I have been using Toytown, WG gesucht / studenten wg/ craiglist/ immobilien scout/ expats.com/ few attempts with an agency (provisionfrei)/ word of mouth and so on. Nothing has worked so far. Some agencies don't even bother to reply and anything that is on immobilien scout is gone in a minute (or you have to compete with 10 other people ). I am looking in K berg and Mitte, KreuzKolln, but also Treptow.

I am a freelancer but have proof of income and all the required papers (schufa etc). With the amount of artists and freelancers in Berlin, I thought things would be more "freelancers friendly".

Is contacting an agency and paying a provision worth it? Shall I hire someone to do the job for me?

I know that there are probably hundreds of posts about this topic on this site but I am in desperate need of advise on how to go about it. Is it just bad luck or am I doing something wrong? it seems that people who have been here for a while or even only for few years have a total different experience about flat hunting . It seems getting worse and worse year after year.

I am about considering giving up on Berlin... as crazy as it sounds this would be the very first time I give up the idea of moving to a new city because I could not find a place.

I have managed to find a place in London, Paris and other major cities.

Any advise about Berlin would be very much appreciate it.

Posted

Edee,

Thanks a lot not only for your tips and advise (very helpful) but also for your words of encouragement.

I guess I am rather tired of flat hunting but also very discouraged as most of my attempts have come down to nothing so far.