Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Freelance rules for language teachers

16 posts in this topic

Posted

Can anyone clarify the rules on this law. i am an freelance engish teacher and Im being told that 1/6 of my income is the most that I can earn from any 1 language school.

Can anyone clarify this law at all.

Posted

Hello jahill78,

Scheinselbständigkeit is not so much a law than a state which is given when you work on honorary based contracts.

It affects your social insurance status which says that if you are writing fees just for one contractor (mainly 5/6 of your income) who could also employ you directly you just "seem" to work on your own behalf.

As a lot of employers in the past years tend to avoid the social contribution payments for their employees, the legislation wants to make sure, health insurances still get their money. Being on your own that way you can easily be told, you have to pay for your health insurance privately. So you better make sure, you have two or more positions to work for when on fee based level.

This rule is quite a little "grey zone" over here and not easy to understand. People are told to ask for the "Steuerberater" but often they don't have a clue what it's all about. I am no counsillor neither, i just give lessons as a sport teacher on fee based contracts but in the meanwhile am rather happy to work in organizations than in a gym or else, as you have to pay a third of your income in taxes as well...

Hope this helps a little, you can also watch into wikipedia for "Scheinselbständigkeit" which explains the main.

Posted

For some reason, 60% sticks in my mind as the maximum percentage of income a freelancer can make from one company. The laws may have changed since I was teaching English 4 years ago, though.

Posted

It is indeed 60% - this is current, recently received info.

Posted