Downloading of torrents in Germany

285 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi All,

Well this may sound naive or plain stupid, but nevertheless...

I'm relatively new to Munich and just got an internet connection at home.

Would like to know how 'safe' is it to download torrents (mostly movies) in Germany. Is the internet traffic strictly monitored? Would consider it a complete 'no-no' or it's ok if done moderately?

Any experiences are appreciated.

Ady

Related topic: Accused of downloading illegal torrents

Posted

Quite simply, there is no way to know what the risks are. There is always a chance that you will get a letter from either a lawyer or your local police station threatening legal action. My own view is that torrent downloading is now so widespread that the chances of being prosecuted become smaller and smaller every day.

If you are downloading copyrighted material, then you are committing an offence, just bear that in mind.

Posted

It's a civil offence, not a criminal offence. A few leecher lawyers in Germany have been entrapping MP3 downloaders, so don't be surprised to receive an invoice in the post if you download popular MP3s.

Posted

Our 'Vorratsdatenspeicherung' law requires every provider with a user base of over 10,000 to log all communications (landline, mobile and internet) without actual content, meaning they will log your connection data (sender, receiver, time, duration, location). The data has to be stored for 6 months.

Posted

Probably won't be downloading many mp3s but some english movies that are atleast an year old or more.

Posted

Our 'Vorratsdatenspeicherung' law requires every provider with a user base of over 10,000 to log all communications (landline, mobile and internet) without actual content, meaning they will log your connection data (sender, receiver, time, duration, location). The data has to be stored for 6 months.

... and how would someone get access to that data?

Posted